Brazil - List of Second and Third Division Champions

Second Division Champions

1971 - Villa Nova Atlético Clube (Nova Lima)
1972 - Sampaio Corrêa Futebol Clube (São Luís)

Because there was no performance-based criterion defining the teams in 
the first level there was no promotion or relegation.  Between 1973 and 
1979 teams were invited to play at the 1st level based mainly on political 
criteria, and no 2nd division was disputed.

1980 - Londrina Esporte Clube (Londrina)
1981 - Guarani Futebol Clube (Campinas)
1982 - Campo Grande Atlético Clube (Rio de Janeiro)
1983 - Clube Atlético Juventus (São Paulo)
1984 - Uberlândia Esporte Clube (Uberlândia)
1985 - Tuna Luso Brasileira (Belém)
1986 -   not disputed
1987 -   not disputed [*]
1988 - Associação Atlética Internacional (Limeira)
1989 - Clube Atlético Bragantino (Bragança Paulista)
1990 - Sport Club Recife (Recife)
1991 - Paysandu Sport Club (Belém)
1992 - Paraná Clube (Curitiba)
1993 -   not disputed
1994 - Esporte Clube Juventude (Caxias do Sul)
1995 - Clube Atlético Paranaense (Curitiba)
1996 - União São João Esporte Clube (Araras)
1997 - América Futebol Clube (Belo Horizonte)
1998 - Sociedade Esportiva Gama (Brasília)
1999 - Goiás Esporte Clube (Goiânia)
2000 - not disputed  [**]
2001 - Paysandu Sport Club (Belém)
2002 - Criciúma Esporte Clube (Criciúma)
2003 - Sociedade Esportiva Palmeiras (São Paulo)
2004 - Brasiliense Futebol Clube (Brasília)
2005 - Grêmio Foot-Ball Porto Alegrense (Porto Alegre)
2006 - Clube Atlético Mineiro (Belo Horizonte)

For more information see the second and third division history.


 2 Paysandu
 1 América-MG, Atlético-PR, Atlético-MG, Bragantino, Brasiliense, Campo Grande, Criciúma, Gama, Goiás, Grêmio, Guarani, Internacional-SP, 
   Juventude, Juventus, Londrina, Palmeiras, Paraná, Sampaio Corrêa, Sport Recife, Tuna Luso, Uberlândia, União São João, 
   Villa Nova

 6 São Paulo
 4 Minas Gerais, 
 3 Pará, Paraná
 2 Distrito Federal, Rio Grande do Sul 
 1 Goiás, Maranhão, Pernambuco, Rio de Janeiro
   Santa Catarina

Third Division Champions

1981 - Olaria Atlético Clube (Rio de Janeiro-RJ)
1982 -   not disputed
1983 -   not disputed
1984 -   not disputed
1985 -   not disputed
1986 -   not disputed
1987 -   not disputed  [*]
1988 - União São João Esporte Clube (Araras-SP)
1989 -   not disputed
1990 - Atlético Clube Goianiense (Goiânia-GO)
1991 -   not disputed
1992 - Tuna Luso Brasileira (Belém-PA)
1993 -   not disputed
1994 - Gremio Esportivo Novorizontino (Novo Horizonte-SP)
1995 - Esporte Clube XV de Novembro (Piracicaba-SP)
1996 - Vila Nova Futebol Clube (Goiânia-GO)
1997 - Sampaio Corrêa Futebol Clube (São Luís-MA)
1998 - Avaí Futebol Clube (Florianópolis-SC)
1999 - Fluminense Football Club (Rio de Janeiro-RJ) 
2000 - not disputed  [**]
2001 - Etti Jundiaí Futebol Ltda. (Jundiaí-SP)
2002 - Brasiliense Futebol Clube (Brasília-DF)
2003 - Ituano Futebol Clube (Itu-SP)
2004 - União Agrícola Barbarense Futebol Clube (Santa Bárbara d'Oeste-SP)
2005 - Clube do Remo (Belém-PA)
2006 - Criciúma Esporte Clube (Criciúma-SC)


 1 Atlético-GO, Avaí, Brasiliense, Criciúma, Etti Jundiaí (1), Fluminense, Ituano, Novorizontino, Olaria, Remo, Sampaio Corrêa, 
   União Agrícola Barbarense, União São João, Vila Nova, XV de Novembro (Piracicaba)

 6 São Paulo
 2 Goiás, Pará, Rio de Janeiro, Santa Catarina
 1 Maranhão, Distrito Federal

(1) Currently Paulista Futebol Clube
[*] Next to the Green and Yellow Modules (see the file on Brazilian champions,
    a Blue and a White Module were disputed, the first by the southernmost,
    the second by the northernmost teams.  These can be considered the
    the third level competitions in 1987.  The winners were Americano (Campos)
    in the Blue Module and Operário (Campo Grande) in the White Module.
    Likewise, one can consider the winners of the Yellow Module,
    Sport Club do Recife (Recife), as second division champion of 1987.
[**] Paraná Clube won the Yellow Module, equivalent to the 2nd level and Clube 
     Malutrom won the White/Blue Module, equivalent to the 3rd level.  These 
     however are not official titles.
     See the Copa João Havelange file for better informations.

Belém is the only city to which the second division championship has gone thrice.

Curitiba and Brasília are the only cities to which the second division championship has gone twice.

Rio de Janeiro and Goiânia are the only cities to which the third division championship has gone twice.

Palmeiras, Sport Recife, Atlético-PR and Guarani are the clubs that have won both the first and second division championships.

Fluminense are the only club to have won both the first and third division championships.

Brasileinse, Tuna Luso Brasileira, União São João and Sampaio Corrêa are the clubs that have been both second and third division champions.

For more information see the second and third division history.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Julio Bovi Diogo and Ricardo Pontes for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation and RSSSF Brazil

Authors: Julio Bovi Diogo ( and Ricardo Pontes (
Last updated: 18 Oct 2007

(C) Copyright Julio Bovi Diogo, Ricardo Pontes, RSSSF and RSSSF Brazil 1996/2007
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.