Brazil -- Campeonato Brasileiro de Seleções Amadoras

Campeonato Brasileiro de Futebol Amador
Year   Venue                Champion         Runner-up
1942   none (*)             Distrito Federal São Paulo
Torneio João Lira (Campeonato Brasileiro de Seleções Amadoras - Extra)
Year   Venue                Champion         Runner-up
1954   none                 São Paulo        Rio de Janeiro
1955   none                 Distrito Federal São Paulo        
Campeonato Brasileiro de Seleções Amadoras
Year   Venue                Champion         Runner-up
1961   Rio de Janeiro (GB)  ?                ?
1962   Rio de Janeiro (GB)  Guanabara        São Paulo
1963   Petrópolis (RJ)      ?                ?
1964 not held
1965   none (*)             Guanabara        São Paulo
1966 not held
1967   Belo Horizonte (MG)  São Paulo        Guanabara
1968   ?                    ?                ?
1969   ?                    ?                ?
1970   Santo André (SP)     São Paulo        Minas Gerais
(*) Tournament played in a home-and-away basis; the final phase was played in Rio de Janeiro (GB).
Top Champions
 4 Distrito Federal/Guanabara
 3 São Paulo
 4 unknown
Obs.: Until 1959, "Distrito Federal" means the Brazilian capital (corresponding
only to the city of Rio de Janeiro). There was also a state of Rio de Janeiro
(corresponding to the countryside of the current Rio de Janeiro state), which
never won the Brazilian Championship.
In 1960, the former Distrito Federal was renamed to Guanabara state and the
recently inaugurated city of Brasília became the new Distrito Federal, which
never won the Brazilian Championship.
Finally, in 1975, the states of Guanabara and Rio de Janeiro were merged,
becoming the current state of Rio de Janeiro.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Lisandro Pavan for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation and RSSSF Brazil

Author: Lisandro Pavan (
Last updated: 12 Sep 2011

(C) Copyright Lisandro Pavan, RSSSF and RSSSF Brazil 2008/2009
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.