São Paulo - Torneio Início 1957

Source: "O Caminho da Bola - volume 2", book written by Rubens Ribeiro.
Due to the high number of participants, the tournament was played in three phases
First Phase (played in 26/05/1957, at Luiz Pereira Stadium, Ribeirão Preto)

Guarani       1-0 Ferroviária
Linense       0-0 Noroeste          (1-0 on corners)
Ponte Preta   0-0 XV de Piracicaba  (3-2 on penalty shoots)
Botafogo      2-0 XV de Jaú

Guarani       2-1 Linense
Botafogo      1-0 Ponte Preta

Botafogo      1-0 Guarani

Botafogo and Guarani qualified to Third Phase

Second Phase (played in 04/06/1957, at Pacaembu Stadium, São Paulo)

Juventus      0-0 Ypiranga          (1-0 on penalty shoots)
Portuguesa    0-0 Jabaquara         (6-5 on penalty shoots)
Palmeiras     0-0 Nacional          (1-0 on penalty shoots)
Corinthians   0-0 Portuguesa Sant.  (2-0 on corners)
São Paulo     bye
São Bento     bye
Santos        bye
Taubaté       bye

São Paulo     0-0 São Bento         (1-0 on penalty shoots)
Santos        0-0 Taubaté           (1-0 on penalty shoots)
Juventus      0-0 Portuguesa        (1-0 on corners)
Palmeiras     2-1 Corinthians

São Paulo     0-0 Santos            (2-1 on corners)
Palmeiras     0-0 Juventus          (1-0 on penalty shoots)

São Paulo     0-0 Palmeiras         (1-0 on penalty shoots)

São Paulo and Palmeiras qualified to Third Phase

Third Phase (played in 06/06/1957, at Pacaembu Stadium, São Paulo)

Botafogo      0-0 Palmeiras         (1-0 on penalty shoots)
São Paulo     0-1 Guarani

Botafogo      2-1 Guarani



1957 (league)


list of champions

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Marcelo Leme de Arruda for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation and RSSSF Brazil

Author: Marcelo Leme de Arruda (marcelo.leme.arruda@gmail.com)
Last updated: 29 Jan 2009

(C) Copyright Marcelo Leme de Arruda, RSSSF and RSSSF Brazil 2009
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.